Dwight Sora interviewed on LucReid.com (part 4)

The fourth installment of the Dwight Sora interview on LucReid.com.
Dwight and Andy

Luc: What’s the most dramatic thing that comes to mind that has happened to you outside of Aikido but because of Aikido–or to ask the question a different way, has the practice of Aikido changed your experience of the rest of your life?

Dwight: As to whether Aikido has brought about a change in my life: my answer is a definite yes. On the most basic level, it completely changed my relation and attitude towards my physical self. When I started Aikido as an exchange student in Japan in 1993 I was somewhat overweight, out of shape and generally disliked any kind of athletic activity. It’s bizarre in retrospect that I even tried Aikido. Since I was a young child, I was essentially a bookworm, was physically awkward and utterly hated gym class. I never found much success or fun in any sport I attempted to play, which has basically lead to a general uninterest in even being a sports spectator. (To this day, I fully admit, I really have no knowledge of the ins and outs of professional sports whatsoever, a big social disadvantage in the United States of America.)

Read more.

About ChicagoAikidoClub

Chicago Aikido Club is non-profit organization dedicated to the free and creative exploration of Aikido in all its aspects – martial, physical and spiritual.
This entry was posted in Community and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

